Titänli

Mahler’s First Symphony in a titanic pocket version, world première recording

September 13 2019

Schweizer Fonogramm puts two arrangements in the focus of the studio production TITÄNLI*: Mahler’s first symphony sparkles in Klaus Simon’s version for 16 instruments and a mixed ensemble accompanies Alexander Zemlinsky’s enigmatic song on Richard Dehmel‘s poem ‘Maiblumen blühten überall’ (arrangement by G. Contratto). The MythenEnsembleOrchestral not only lifts the exuberant confessional music of Mahler’s First in this pocket version, but carries the soprano Lisa Larsson over the early-expressionistic abysses in Zemlinsky’s work who was a colleague and a rival of Mahler, in a certain sense….. Both recordings are world premieres.

*TITÄNLI : Swiss dialect diminutive of ‘Titan’, the original title of Mahler’s First in the Budapest premiere in1889.

Excerpts

1 - 1.Langsam, schleppend

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

2 - 2. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

3 - 3. Feierlich und gemessen

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

4 - 4. Stürmisch bewegt

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

5 - Langsam

Zemlinsky / Contratto - Maiblumen blühten überall

Facing the composer as a friend
Questions for Klaus Simon, arranger of Mahler’s First Symphony

Dear Klaus Simon, could you describe your special affinity with the music of the Viennese fin de siècle ?
Viennese composers before and after 1900 have always been fascinating to me. This epoch is just wonderful in terms of Music, as it leads from the late Romanticism to the early modern era, but Vienna was also a melting pot for general culture : Freud, Klimt, Schiele, Wedekind, just to mention a few, were pioneers in so many other artistic or scientific fiels, too. In the period between 1870 and 1914, Vienna was probably the most important cultural city in the world, despite the strong competition from Paris and Berlin.

Did you ever feel that your respect for the original score was like a burden and, if so, how did you overcome this potential blockade?
I never felt that way. On the contrary: engaging with Mahler’s music is very inspiring for me because he was such a genuinely original composer. In each of his ten symphonies you can discover something new, though familiar. For me, he has become a good friend to whom I will always keep a sort of attachment as long as I live.

When Schoenberg and his students founded the association for the promotion of private performances, there were financial as well as artistic reasons to commission arrangements of symphonic compositions: What inspired you to continue this ‘association work’?
Schoenberg once said that it was about musical truth. Of course, a large orchestral work can impress with brilliant instrumentation. But not all pieces would survive the reduction to an ensemble of 14 or 17 instruments. Sometimes, there are also passages in Mahler’s symphonies (especially in the late work) which are even more intense in the chamber version, since the intimacy can now be even more effective. I actually see my arranging activity in the tradition of Schoenberg’s aesthetics. That was always very important to me. It was never about me, but about the respective work and the question how to arrange it for 14-17 instruments without losing or even alienating the typical sound of the original. I am always happy to hear that this might be the case.

You have already successfully arranged several symphonies and song cycles by Mahler for chamber ensembles: are there still moments when you are reluctant to rethink the scores? Which solutions do you find then? Was there such a passage in Mahler’s First Symphony?
Well, the arrangement of the First Symphony was my first arrangement of a great symphony without rescue ring. At that time, I had arleady arranged Mahler’s Fourth Symphony, which is much more like chamber music than the first, thinking e.g. of the eight horns in the finale!
With Mahler’s First, I found a standard line-up which I have used so far in all my arrangements of Mahler’s 1st, 5th, 6th, 7th. and 9th Symphony. I double the clarinets and the horns, and meanwhile favor the accordion instead of the harmonium, because it is much more flexible and dynamic. Moreover, in contrast to the harmonium, you will find professional players for it. Most of the time, I also add one hapr. It’s just more colorful.
There are no patent solutions, but I know the instruments and their possibilities (I think) quite well, I suppose, and I always write for good musicians, but the arrangements are a challenge. They are harder to play than the original for everyone has more notes to play, especially the winds. The horns and the trumpet happen to complain about the incredible difficulty of there parts.

You are also a successful and versatile conductor with your own ensemble, do you think of certain musicians when arranging and is this helpful?
Yes, sure. In the development process of an arrangement, I sometimes call certain musicians and ask questions such as “How long does a flute take to switch to Piccolo or vice versa?” or “How about that pedal change in the harp – is this possible or not?”. I remember a very high clarinet passage where my clarinetist first groaned but then managed to realize the extremely high tone on the Bb clarinet – a solution which he would never have to do in the symphonic orchestra constellation. Luckily, the passage was very loud. (Of course, that would not have been reasonable in pianissimo …)

Mahler did a lot of orchestration experiments in his First Symphony (even though – as we know today – the recently deceased fellow student Hans Rott may also have contributed some of the original elements). How was it for you to add the accordion / harmonium and piano to this youthful ‚her-I-come‘-instrumentation? It fits, for example, marvellously well in the slow movement, especially in the more Yiddish sections, I would suggest.
The harmonium was indeed used by Schönberg’s association for private musical performances to complement missing wind parts. This is almost a tradition which I gladly took over and without which I personally would not have had the courage to arrange Mahler’s symphonies. I conducted my first performance of my “op. 1”, i.e. the arrangement of Mahler’s Fourth Symphony, in 2007 with my Holst-Sinfonietta and then used the harmonium. Four years later I listened to a performance of “my” Mahler Four for the first time with accordion at Chiemsee and was immediately sure: that sounds much better than the harmonium. One must also know that the harmonium was still in vogue until the twenties of the 20th century, and the accordion was barely known as an instrument for high end culture music. Only Hindemith has dedicated an important part to the accordion in his Little Chamber Music op. 24,1. After that, the accordion went steeply uphill and the harmonium gradually disappeared.
And of course, the piano is wonderfully versatile, has a huge perimeter and can easily replace timpani and other instruments. Without harmonium / accordion or piano you would need many more instruments.

Which compositional fields of the symphony were more complex for you as an arranger: the opulent-monumental or the tender? How do you deal with the contrast effects in Mahler’s music when the overwhelming power of the sheer volume of the symphonic orchestra virtually disappears?
It is much easier to produce subtle effects than to emulate the tutti of a hundred-strong orchestra with just 16 musicians. The finale of the First Symphony is sometimes very powerful, sometimes it comes to a limit with a soloist string section, and I was amazed when I could observe my own ensemble that it can work. But you need very sensitive musicians who play very well together, otherwise it will be difficult. A forte in the trumpet is of course a different forte than on a flute in the same pitch. Two horns and a trumpet can sound pretty powerful!
I was also helped by the score knowledge of Schoenberg’s First Chamber Symphony in E major op. 9, which also has a lot more wind instruments than strings. This is a wonderful piece to learn how to arrange in a convincing balance.

Titänli

Mahlers Visitenkarte im Taschenformat - Weltersteinspielung

13 September 2019

Mit TITÄNLI* stellt Schweizer Fonogramm zwei Arrangements in den Fokus der Studioproduktion: Mahlers Erste erklingt in Klaus Simons Fassung für 16 Instrumente und anstelle des ursprünglichen Streichsextetts begleitet ein gemischtes Ensemble Alexander Zemlinskys rätselhaftes Lied ‚Maiblumen blühten überall‘ auf ein Gedicht von Richard Dehmel (Fassung G. Contratto). Das MythenEnsembleOrchestral stemmt nicht nur die überbordende Bekenntnismusik des jungen Mahler in dieser Taschenversion, sondern trägt die Sopranistin Lisa Larsson über die frühexpressionistischen Abgründe in Zemlinskys Werk hinweg, der gewisserweise Kollege und Rivale von Mahler war…. Beide Aufnahmen sind Weltersteinspielungen.

*TITÄNLI: Diminutiv in Schweizer Mundart für ‚Titan‘, dem Titel der Symphonie in der Uraufführung in Budapest von 1889

Hineinhören

1 - 1.Langsam, schleppend

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

2 - 2. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

3 - 3. Feierlich und gemessen

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

4 - 4. Stürmisch bewegt

Mahler / Simon - 1. Symphonie

5 - Langsam

Zemlinsky / Contratto - Maiblumen blühten überall

Dem Komponisten zugewandt – Fragen an Klaus Simon, Arrangeur von Mahlers Erster Symphonie

Lieber Klaus Simon, wie kommt es bei Ihnen zu jener besonderen Affinität zur Musik des Wiener fin de siècle?
Ich muss bekennen, dass die Wiener Komponisten vor und nach 1900 mich v.a. in den letzten zehn Jahren immer sehr interessiert haben. Natürlich ist diese Epoche wunderbar, da sie rein musikalisch betrachtet von der Spätromantik in die frühe Moderne führt, aber man muss sich klar machen, was auch allgemein kulturell in Wien in dieser Zeit für ein Schmelztiegel war. Grössen wir Freud, Klimt, Schiele, Wedekind u.v.m. alleine beweisen den Weltrang dieser wohl grössten Zeit von Wien. Wahrscheinlich war Wien in der Zeit zwischen 1870 und 1914 kulturell die bedeutendste Stadt der ganzen Welt, und das trotz der starken Konkurrenz aus Paris und Berlin.

Kann der Respekt vor dem Original auch lähmend sein? Falls ja: Wie überwinden Sie diese Hürde?
Das habe ich nie so empfunden. Im Gegenteil: Sich mit der Musik Mahlers zu beschäftigen ist für mich sehr inspirierend, weil er so ein genuin origineller Komponist war. Man kann bei jeder seiner zehn Sinfonien wieder Neues, aber auch natürlich Vertrautes entdecken. Für mich ist er ein guter Freund geworden, dem ich immer zugewandt bleiben werde so lange ich lebe.

Als Schönberg zusammen mit seinen Schülern den Verein zur Förderung von Privataufführungen gründete, gab es für die hier in Auftrag gegebenen Werke nebst finanziellen auch künstlerische Gründe: Welche davon haben Sie inspiriert, diese ‚Vereinsarbeit‘ weiter zu führen?
Schönberg sagte einmal, es ginge ihm dabei um musikalische Wahrheit. Natürlich kann ein gross besetztes Orchesterwerk bei glänzender Instrumentierung beeindrucken. Aber nicht alle überleben die Reduktion, die Konzentration auf wie so oft bei mir 14-17 Instrumente so gut wie andere. Es gibt Stellen in den Sinfonien Mahlers (v.a. im Spätwerk), die in der kammermusikalischen Fassung sogar noch intensiver wirken, da die Intimität nun noch mehr wirken kann. Ich sehe meine Arrangiertätigkeit tatsächlich in der Tradition der Ästhetik Schönbergs. Das war mir immer sehr wichtig. Mir ging es nie um mich, sondern um das jeweilige Werk und die Frage wie man es am besten für 14-17 Instrumente arrangieren kann, ohne einerseits den typischen Klang des Originals zu verlieren oder gar zu verfremden. Mich freut es immer wieder zu hören, dass das tatsächlich so wäre.

Sie haben bereits mehrere Sinfonien und Liedzyklen von Mahler erfolgreich für Kammerfassungen arrangiert: gibt es für Sie trotzdem noch Momente, in denen Sie zögern, die Partituren neu zu denken? Welche Lösungen finden Sie dann? Gab es so eine Stelle in der Ersten Sinfonie?
Nun, das Arrangement der Ersten Sinfonie war meine erstes Arrangement einer grssen Sinfonie ohne Schwimmringe. Damals hatte ich zuvor erst Mahlers Vierte Sinfonie arrangiert gehabt, die ja wesentlich kammermusikalischer als die Erste ist. Denken Sie an die acht Hörner im 4. Satz!
Mit Mahlers Erster fand ich zu einer Standardbesetzung, mit der ich bisher bei allen Arrangements von Mahlers 1.,5.,6.,7. und 9. Sinfonie gearbeitet habe. Ich verdopple die Klarinetten und die Hörner, und favorisiere mittlerweile das Akkordeon vor dem Harmonium, weil es viel flexibler und dynamischer ist und man im Gegensatz zum Harmonium professionelle Spieler dafür findet. Die Harfe hab ich nun meistens auch immer dabei. Es ist einfach noch farbiger mit ihr.
Patentlösungen gibt es nicht, aber ich kenne die Instrumente und ihre Möglichkeiten ( glaube ich) ganz gut und schreibe immer für gute MusikerInnen natürlich gerne anspruchsvoll. Die Arrangements sind schwerer zu spielen als das Original, da alle mehr Noten zu spielen haben, vor allem die Bläser. Da stöhnen schon mal die Hörner und die Trompete, die teilweise Unglaubliches leisten müssen.

Sie sind auch ein erfolgreicher und vielseitiger Dirigent mit einem eigenen Ensemble, kann es passieren, dass Sie beim Arrangieren an bestimmte MusikerInnen Ihres Ensembles denken und ist dies hilfreich ? – Ihre Arrangements werden ja auf der ganzen Welt interpretiert….
Ja klar. Im Entstehungsprozess rufe ich teilweise gewisse Musiker an und stelle Fragen wie z.B. “Wie lange braucht eine Flöte für einen Wechsel zur Piccolo oder umgekehrt?” oder “Ist diese Stelle auf der Harfe mit den Pedalwechseln möglich oder nicht?”. Ich erinnere mich an eine sehr hohe Klarinettenstelle, wo mein Klarinettist erst gestöhnt hat, dann aber es doch schaffte den extrem hohen Ton auf der B-Klarinette zu realisieren, den er im großen Orchester nie spielen müsste. Glücklicherweise war der sehr laut. (Im pp wäre das natürlich nicht zumutbar gewesen…)

Mahler hat ja in seiner Ersten Sinfonie sehr viele Orchestrierungs-Experimente durchgeführt (auch wenn – wie wir heute wissen – der jung verstorbene Studienkollege Hans Rott vielleicht ebenfalls originelle Elemente beigesteuert hat). Wie war es für Sie, Akkordeon/Harmonium und Klavier zu dieser jugendlichen ‚Hoppla- hier- bin – ich‘- Instrumentation noch hinzuzufügen? Es passt ja zB im langsamen Satz, vor allem in den etwas jiddischeren Abschnitten, ganz wunderbar, wie ich finde.
Das Harmonium wurde ja bei Schönbergs Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen gerne eingesetzt um fehlende Bläserstimmen zu ergänzen. Das ist quasi Tradition, die ich gerne übernommen habe und ohne die ich persönlich Mahlers Sinfonien nicht arrangieren wollte und auch nicht könnte. Die Uraufführung meines “op. 1”, also das Arrangement von Mahlers Vierter Sinfonie, habe ich ja selber noch 2007 mit meiner Holst-Sinfonietta aufgeführt und damals “brav” das Harmonium verwendet. Vier Jahre später lauschte ich am Chiemsee einer Aufführung “meiner” Mahler Vier zum ersten Mal mit Akkordeon und war mir sofort sicher: das klingt viel besser als das “originale” Harmonium. Man muss auch wissen, dass das Harmonium bis in die Zwanziger Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts auch noch en vogue war, und das Akkordeon in seriöser Musik noch kaum bekannt. Erst Hindemith hat in seiner Kleinen Kammermusik op. 24,1 dem Akkordeon einen wichtigen Part gewidmet. Danach ging es mit dem Akkordeon steil bergauf und das Harmonium verschwand nach und nach.
Und das Klavier ist natürlich auch wunderbar vielseitig, hat einen Riesenumfang, kann gut Pauken und andere Instrumente ersetzen. Ohne Harmonium/Akkordeon oder Klavier bräuchte man wesentlich mehr Instrumente.

Welche kompositorischen Felder der Sinfonie waren für Sie komplexer in der Arbeit als Arrangeur: die opulent-monumentalen oder die zarten? Wie gehen Sie mit den Kontrastwirkungen in Mahlers Musik um, wenn die überwältigende Kraft des schieren Volumens der Besetzung quasi wegfällt?
Es ist viel leichter zarte Wirkungen zu erzeugen als die Tuttiwucht eines 100-köpfigen Orchesters mit gerade mal 16 Musikern nachzueifern. Das Finale der Ersten Sinfonie ist teilweise sehr gewaltig, da kommt man mit einer solistischen Streicherbesetzung manchmal schon an seine Grenzen, wobei ich gestaunt habe als ich selbst 2017 das mit meinem Ensemble, die Holst-Sinfonietta so aufgeführt habe, dass es gehen kann. Dazu braucht man aber sehr sensible Musiker, die aufeinander eingespielt sind, sonst wird es schwer. Ein Forte in der Trompete ist naturgemäss ein anderes Forte als auf einer Flöte in gleicher Lage. Zwei Hörner und eine Trompete können erfahrungsgemäß ganz schön mächtig klingen!
Geholfen hat mir auch die Partiturkenntnis von Schönbergs Erster Kammersinfonie E-Dur op. 9, die ja auch wesentlich mehr Bläser als Streicher aufweist. Das ist ein wunderbares Stück um gut arrangieren zu lernen….

Im Musikmagazin des Senders SRF Kultur vom 3. August bespricht Musikredaktor Moritz Weber die Studioproduktion von Schweizer Fonogramm.